Railroad Line Forums - Orford and Orford Bay Railway Construction
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 8 | Anonymous Members: 1 | Guests: 206 ]  [ Total: 215 ]  [ Newest Member: RLJones ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Model Railroad Construction
 Orford and Orford Bay Railway Construction
Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Layout Room Flooring Options - Over Concrete Topic Next Topic: Where to go with the staging.Help needed
Page: of 5

nhpickles9
New Hire

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  07:52:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
(Edited 04/01/13)

Hi all, as can be seen from my post in Arrival track here, http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=31338&whichpage=30, I am a 14 year old Australian. This thread will detail the construction of a freelance railway based around the fictional town of Orford and it's nearby beach at Orford Bay. While Orford is an actual town in Tasmania, Australia, the layout is loosely based on 1950s East Coast Australia and I have and will take prototypes from New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory and Victoria (South Eastern states of Australia) to use on the layout.

The layout is 2'3" x 3'3" house in a coffee table measuring 2'6" x 3'6".

This is the table as I have designed it in sketchup. It has a glass panel on top as well as one on each of the four sides. Later I will post pics of the wood for the table.


This is two sheets of 9mm marine ply being glued together, this will form the lower half of the table.
Exploring the tracks.

Edited by - nhpickles9 on 01/03/2013 7:44:42 PM

Country: Australia | Posts: 27

nhpickles9
New Hire

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  07:59:49 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Unfortunately still getting the same error message

Exploring the tracks.

Country: Australia | Posts: 27 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2013 :  08:07:21 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by nhpickles9

Unfortunately still getting the same error message



Did you read the instructions on posting pictures?
Here they are just in case: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=27749

For one thing, your pictures are way too big.
Reduce them to where the longest side is 800 pixels.



Country: USA | Posts: 23530 Go to Top of Page

nhpickles9
New Hire

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  08:14:28 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
(Edited 04/01/13)

Here I am cutting the polystyrene to fit the MDF base. I am using 2" thick foam as my scenery base.


Using heavy books to weight the foam while glue dries. Unfortunately hot glue doesn't have a good working time - I wasn't able to get good coverage of it on the MDF before it started to dry. After this pic was taken I took a big bottle of Aquadhere Pva (Elmers for the Americans out there ) and squirted some of this under any areas that were lifting. Then I re-weighted it while the more suitable product dried. I figure hot glue is probably better for smaller areas or when you have help.


Final image for this post, this is me using a tenon saw (I wish I had a bandsaw )to cut some fascia pieces out of leftover marine ply used for table. After doing a bit of research on edge finishing tonight, I will sand the edge, use wood filler, lightly sand again, prime then paint.


Today I also started transferring track centre-lines and locations of building to polystyrene base but pictures will come tomorrow.


Exploring the tracks.

Edited by - nhpickles9 on 01/03/2013 7:47:11 PM

Country: Australia | Posts: 27 Go to Top of Page

nhpickles9
New Hire

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  08:16:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Rick

quote:
Originally posted by nhpickles9

Unfortunately still getting the same error message



Did you read the instructions on posting pictures?
Here they are just in case: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=27749

For one thing, your pictures are way too big.
Reduce them to where the longest side is 800 pixels.



Hi Rick, re-read instructions, don't have time now but tomorrow I will fix image sizes and edit my posts. Thanks, Nick


Exploring the tracks.

Country: Australia | Posts: 27 Go to Top of Page

Rick
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2013 :  08:28:45 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Nick, welcome to the forum.
I know a lot of members will be happy seeing a younger person getting involved in the hobby.
I see you've figured out that getting them under 200kb is important but making them the size I've suggested will prevent viewers from having to scroll to see the entire photo.
Good luck on your layout and thanks for sharing with us.



Country: USA | Posts: 23530 Go to Top of Page

Carl B
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  6:31:21 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Good job Nick...!
Welcome to the forums...nice work on your drawings too!

I started in this hobby at about your age...and I never tired of it.

Of course, we didn't have this fantastic collection of modellers back then
available to help each other so easily....so just ask...

Waiting to see your next progress shot.

Good Luck!



Country: USA | Posts: 3721 Go to Top of Page

hon3_rr
Fireman

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2013 :  6:37:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome to the forum. I have a question, and maybe you have already answered it, but do you have a track plan?

Looking forward to your progress, so keep us updated.


-- KP --
Life is to short to build all of the models I want to.

Country: USA | Posts: 7236 Go to Top of Page

BigLars
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 01/03/2013 :  6:41:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Nick,
Welcome to the forum. Looks like you have a good start to your project. Good luck, I will be following along to see how you are doing.
Larry



Country: USA | Posts: 11542 Go to Top of Page

Ensign
Fireman

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  6:42:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello Nick,and welcome to the forums!
This looks like an interesting project that your taking on.
You did not mention the scale your planning to model in, "N" or "Z"?
Have you built a layout or done any modeling, before this project?
Enough questions now,I look forward to watching your ambitious project take shape.

Greg Shinnie



Country: Canada | Posts: 8720 Go to Top of Page

Martin Welberg
Fireman



Posted - 01/03/2013 :  6:54:26 PM  Show Profile  Visit Martin Welberg's Homepage  Reply with Quote
G'day Nick, welcome to the forums, looks like an interesting project you've got there ..


Country: Netherlands | Posts: 6727 Go to Top of Page

Orionvp17
Fireman

Premium Member

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  6:57:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome aboard, Nick!

These Forums have a wealth of good information available for the reading and/or asking, so don't be bashful!

You're off to a good start on an ambitious project, and all of us wish you well in your endeavor. Keep us posted!

Pete
in Michigan



Country: USA | Posts: 7165 Go to Top of Page

wvrr
Fireman



Posted - 01/03/2013 :  6:57:53 PM  Show Profile  Visit wvrr's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Great to have you here, Nick. Looks like a great project!

Chuck



Country: | Posts: 6535 Go to Top of Page

nhpickles9
New Hire

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  7:28:02 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by hon3_rr

Welcome to the forum. I have a question, and maybe you have already answered it, but do you have a track plan?

Looking forward to your progress, so keep us updated.




Hi hon3_rr, yes I do have a track plan, at the moment I'm working on resizing the images in my original posts but I will upload it later today along with notes about certain elements of it. :D


Exploring the tracks.

Country: Australia | Posts: 27 Go to Top of Page

nhpickles9
New Hire

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  7:33:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Ensign

Hello Nick,and welcome to the forums!
This looks like an interesting project that your taking on.
You did not mention the scale your planning to model in, "N" or "Z"?
Have you built a layout or done any modeling, before this project?
Enough questions now,I look forward to watching your ambitious project take shape.

Greg Shinnie



Hi Greg, my layout is N scale. I haven't previously 'built' a model railroad but my dad and I used to run HO trains he had from when he was a kid on an oval of track on the carpet - yes I know, carpet .
Regardless, I have always wanted an 'actual' model railroad and I will be drawing on my experience from something I have been doing for about 4 years (previously I had significant help) and something I still enjoy doing now, kit and diorama modelling.


Exploring the tracks.

Country: Australia | Posts: 27 Go to Top of Page

nhpickles9
New Hire

Posted - 01/03/2013 :  7:35:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
(Edited 04/01/13)

Thankyou to everyone else as well for your encouragement so far, I will try to regularly update you on the progress.

And Rick you will be happy to know that the images have been resized :D


Exploring the tracks.

Edited by - nhpickles9 on 01/03/2013 7:48:18 PM

Country: Australia | Posts: 27 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 5 Previous Topic: Layout Room Flooring Options - Over Concrete Topic Next Topic: Where to go with the staging.Help needed  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-2020 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.5 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000