Railroad Line Forums - Firebox flickering lights
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 3 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 112 ]  [ Total: 115 ]  [ Newest Member: Bigbandito ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 The On30 Line
 Firebox flickering lights
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Wooden Tunnel Portals Topic Next Topic: Swamp Logging Diorama in 2011 Modelers Annual  

Dodgezilla04
Engine Wiper



Posted - 12/15/2010 :  10:27:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have to have firebox lights. I have tsunami 1000 decoders and I cannot find out what the voltage the function outputs are. I found a soundtraxx kit number 810071 but everything points to g scale and I think their voltage is higher. Can anyone shed some light?
Chris.

Country: USA | Posts: 353

Dodgezilla04
Engine Wiper



Posted - 12/15/2010 :  10:52:43 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I read the 28 pages of the manual and found that 16v bulbs will work and
LEDs with 680 ohm 1/4watt resistors. But what have people used successfully
That looks good?


Chris.

Country: USA | Posts: 353 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer



Posted - 12/16/2010 :  10:58:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Here is a chart for the AT-1000 showing the 1.5 volt tabs and the 12 volt tabs. I have HO scale logging locomotives and use red incandescent lamps #18-R03-10 from Miniatronics Corp. You can use one red and one orange together for a better look. They are 1.5 volt 30mA bulbs and work great. A few have had them in for years, and I never had to change one. Plus for a firebox use they look better than LED's. IMO
Here is what Soundtraxx says:
Tsunamiís lighting effects can be used with
either incandescent bulbs or LEDs. However, because of their differences in
brightness characteristics, some lighting effects will appear less life-like when
initially set up with an LED. To correct this, Tsunamiís LED compensation
mode should be enabled which will improve the contrast of the lighting effect
by automatically adjusting the function output level to correct for the different
brightness characteristics of an LED.






Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast
Post count: 2000 posts added to below count.

Edited by - desertdrover on 12/16/2010 11:10:27 AM

Country: USA | Posts: 17192 Go to Top of Page

Dodgezilla04
Engine Wiper



Posted - 12/17/2010 :  11:51:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I installed lights tonight. I used a red and a yellow led each with a 1k ohm 1/4 watt resistor. The lights are drilled into the ashpan/wire cover and are flush.
It's a neat effect. It will look better with an orange led instead of yellow.


Chris.

Country: USA | Posts: 353 Go to Top of Page

desertdrover
Engineer



Posted - 12/18/2010 :  08:57:54 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Dodgezilla04

I installed lights tonight. I used a red and a yellow led each with a 1k ohm 1/4 watt resistor. The lights are drilled into the ashpan/wire cover and are flush.
It's a neat effect. It will look better with an orange led instead of yellow.



You will be happy with the red/orange lights effect.



Louis
Pacific Northwest Logging in the East Coast
Post count: 2000 posts added to below count.

Country: USA | Posts: 17192 Go to Top of Page

Dodgezilla04
Engine Wiper



Posted - 12/18/2010 :  11:07:25 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Louis. I'm headed to radio shack in a bit to grab some orange LEDs. I just wonder if my 2-6-6-2 with the factory tsunami sound has the same ability. I will have to research.

Chris.

Country: USA | Posts: 353 Go to Top of Page

visman48
Fireman



Posted - 12/18/2010 :  3:34:47 PM  Show Profile  Visit visman48's Homepage  Click to see visman48's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Guys
Did I miss something, which CV controls the rate of flicker? I know I can map that...well I think I can in decoder pro. I have 2 ON3 Shays that I am converting to DCC, they had PFM sound and a firebox light.

Les



Country: USA | Posts: 6031 Go to Top of Page

Dodgezilla04
Engine Wiper



Posted - 12/18/2010 :  7:50:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
59 controls flash rate. The value is 0-15. 15 is the slowest.

Chris.

Country: USA | Posts: 353 Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic: Wooden Tunnel Portals Topic Next Topic: Swamp Logging Diorama in 2011 Modelers Annual  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-19 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.34 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000