Railroad Line Forums - Logging Micro Suggestions?
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 1 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 108 ]  [ Total: 109 ]  [ Newest Member: neiler ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 Micro & Mini Layouts
 Logging Micro Suggestions?
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: My P&RC RR. Mini in On30 Topic Next Topic: The Great International Shoebox Challenge  

bcarter1234
New Hire

Posted - 01/18/2009 :  8:27:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello,

I'm beginning to plan a three level micro layout in HOn30. I'm new to model railroading having nearly completed my first layout, an HOn30 5-3-3 inglenook which borrows heavily from Chris Krupa's Minbury Abbas. I'm hoping for some insight here.

What I want to try next is a logging layout in three scenes. Each will be an individual shelf layout preferably no larger than 3'x1' for the modelled section. When run as a unit they can be stacked so that a train leaving the bottom layout exits on to a cassette which will then be turned (or not) and the train will enter the second level etc. Each level could have from 1 to 4 entries/exits ie. left front, right front, left rear etc. If the entries and exits were properly aligned you could set them up end to end I suppose.

I'd like one level to have an inglenook, one a tymesaver or variation of it, the third I'm open to suggestion.

I don't know much about logging operations so any advice regarding what scene should be modelled on each shelf would be great. I'm thinking logging on top, a small town to switch in the center and the mill or log dump on the bottom.