Railroad Line Forums - Mantua 2-6-6-2 decoder
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 0 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 50 ]  [ Total: 50 ]  [ Newest Member: heabow ]
 All Forums
 Model Railroad Forums
 DCC, Computers and Electronics for Model Railroads
 Mantua 2-6-6-2 decoder
Next Page
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic |   Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic: Decoder Pro - First Impressions Topic Next Topic: Wiring Tomar dwarf signals from tortoise???
Page: of 4

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 05/22/2008 :  10:59:53 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just received my new Mantua Classics 2-6-6-2 loco. It is suppose to be DCC compatible. Does anyone have experience installing a decoder with sound in this loco? Any recommendations as to which decoder? I am thinking a Soundtraxx tsu-1000 heavy steam with a high base speaker. I haven't taken the tender apart yet, but the exploded view on the parts list shows a DCC plug on the PCB. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. The loco ran very well in DC, an old MRC 501 power pack, right out of the box. Thanks, Tom

Country: USA | Posts: 316

k9wrangler
Fireman



Posted - 05/22/2008 :  11:45:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Mainframer



I'd contact Tony or Ken at Tony's Train Xchange in VT they have been very helpful to me at times in the past.

Litchfield Station is another dcc shop that comes highly recommended but I've not used any but Tony's.

The decoder mfgr might have helpful information as well.

I had one of the old versions of that engine and it was a nice running locomotive. All the hoopla about DCC wiring spooked me into selling it. A move I regret as other dcc decoder projects I've done were no where near the negative experiences I was lead to believe.



Edited by - k9wrangler on 05/22/2008 11:48:58 AM

Country: USA | Posts: 6744 Go to Top of Page

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 05/27/2008 :  1:19:11 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Karl, Thanks for the reply. Soundtraxx says to use the tsu-1000 heavy steam. Lichfield Station says they have only installed power, not sound. Thinks sound will be a tight fit and some work. I have not heard back from Tony's Train yet. Next step will be to take the tender apart and see what's in there and how much room. The tender looks like the same one for the 2-6-2 prairie. Tom


Country: USA | Posts: 316 Go to Top of Page

visman48
Fireman



Posted - 06/15/2008 :  6:16:47 PM  Show Profile  Visit visman48's Homepage  Click to see visman48's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Guys,
I have done 2 2662Ts converted to ON30. One was a T version and the other was a tender version. The T version while it has a standard plug, is a mess of wires. The other tender version what I didn't use, has DCC already and standard socket.

I used for both of my conversion LOK sound for 2662Ts and speakers, one has a narrow rectangular speaker that is fit into the modified Forney bunker. The other a standard round speaker mounted on the floor between the cab and the bunker.

On both I cut ALL the wiring down to stubs, soldered, and utilized connectors where I wanted disconnects.


placement of speaker between rear cab wall and bunker..



Speaker in place with soundbox


Speaker and sound bunker


Finished product...


For the version not seen here, the Lok Rectangular speaker fits into the bunker. I am using the LOK micro decoders.

Les


My forum build links;
Big Horn and Moose Creek :http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=22704&whichpage=1
Locomotives: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=20279
Railcars: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=17827
Mining Module: http://railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=41352&whichpage=1

Country: USA | Posts: 5436 Go to Top of Page

visman48
Fireman



Posted - 06/15/2008 :  8:50:36 PM  Show Profile  Visit visman48's Homepage  Click to see visman48's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
All,
I currently have a 2662T open and have not cut the wiring up, I can take pictures if you want a look see. I also have the number for the LOK decoder if you want.

les


My forum build links;
Big Horn and Moose Creek :http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=22704&whichpage=1
Locomotives: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=20279
Railcars: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=17827
Mining Module: http://railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=41352&whichpage=1

Country: USA | Posts: 5436 Go to Top of Page

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 06/17/2008 :  1:14:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Les, Thanks for the reply. I have been busy and had not checked this post for awhile. I will be putting the docoder and speaker in the tender as that is the version I have. Yes, I would like the part numbers for the LOK decoder and speaker. I have been out on the LOK sound zite to look around. You must be having good luck with their decoders if you have installed several. Did you order them directly from LOK. I have only installed one decoder and that was a SoundTrax PnP made for the Bachmann HO Shay so was very easy. I have not pulled the tender shell off yet to see what is inside but the parts picture shows some kind of plug. Does the LOK come wired to a plug or just the bare wires? Guess I would have to order a matching plug or try to solder the wires together. Hope they have good instructions. At some time in the future I might try to kitbash this into a copy of Rayonier #111, even though it is really too big. I have some pictures I took of the 2662's Rayonier had at a lumber camp back in 1963. Wish I knew then what I know now, I would have taken a whole bunch more. Thanks for your help with this project. Tom


Country: USA | Posts: 316 Go to Top of Page

visman48
Fireman



Posted - 06/17/2008 :  1:46:03 PM  Show Profile  Visit visman48's Homepage  Click to see visman48's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Tom
I am very happy with the LOK decoders, although most are NOT PNP, they will require soldering of wires. Documentation is good, and its to standards.

I found the information on the decoder you asked about its 82862 LokSound V3.5 Steam 2662 Articulated. I am using this one because of size issues in getting speaker and decoder into the space I want. I don't know if there are others out there.

I ordered and get my decoders from Crusader Rails, Ray has good luck getting what I need. I have used both the micro and regular size. I have in operations 2662T(2 going on 3) 280, and Goose railtrucks.

I am not sure if the orginal question was for HO install or ON30/3, but if going for HO, and its a T version then the micro, if going for the tender version then you can select the larger 3.5 version.

These decoders short of not being PNP are just like the others to install.

Les


My forum build links;
Big Horn and Moose Creek :http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=22704&whichpage=1
Locomotives: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=20279
Railcars: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=17827
Mining Module: http://railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=41352&whichpage=1

Country: USA | Posts: 5436 Go to Top of Page

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 06/17/2008 :  2:12:51 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Les, Thank you very much for the info. I will followup and one ordered. For now, I guess I had better get back to work. They don't pay me to dream about trains during the day. Tom


Country: USA | Posts: 316 Go to Top of Page

visman48
Fireman



Posted - 06/17/2008 :  2:34:24 PM  Show Profile  Visit visman48's Homepage  Click to see visman48's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Tom,
I understand too, I work full time and get a chance once in a while to check the Forum. If you want more of peek into what projects I build, check out the thread in ON30, my pages of stuff.. http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=20279&whichpage=1 there you can find more help I think. You are not on the island alone.

Les


My forum build links;
Big Horn and Moose Creek :http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=22704&whichpage=1
Locomotives: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=20279
Railcars: http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=17827
Mining Module: http://railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=41352&whichpage=1

Country: USA | Posts: 5436 Go to Top of Page

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 06/20/2008 :  12:19:13 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I ordered a LokSound v3.5 decoder today from Bruce and Linda at Litchfield Station. Very nice people to work with. So the package should be arriving first of next week. I will attempt to document the install as I go. Les, thanks for your input and pictures of your install. Very nice looking loco. Tom


Country: USA | Posts: 316 Go to Top of Page

nhguy
Fireman



Posted - 06/20/2008 :  12:33:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit nhguy's Homepage  Send nhguy a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
The Tsunami decoders have an articulated mode that you can set. I have a friend that has them in a couple of his 2-6-6-2 engines and they sound great. There is a cam option but I am not sure you can use it in the articulated mode. Perhaps on the next generation of Tsunami Steam there will be a 2 cam option.

QSI is another option as they have done some for the 2-8-8-2's N&W A class and they sounded pretty good. I think they used an optical sensor on a flywheel to sound the chuffs.


Bill Shanaman
Superintendent, Chief Track Cleaner,
New Haven RR in the 1948 to 1952 era
PMRA President 2014-15, OpSIG Member
NCE User Since 1999
Sugar City, Colorado

Country: USA | Posts: 4241 Go to Top of Page

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 06/25/2008 :  1:13:48 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Les, I received my LOKsound v3.5 standard decoder. Question for you since you have installed this in your 2662's. The decoder has 8 wires, plus a purple wire and the 2 brown speaker wires. The loco has 9 wires. I am assuming that I would solder like color wires together. What do I do with the brown wire(9th) from the loco? Also, since the wires are so small, what did you use to strip the insulation off with out destroying the wire? I don't think I have a small enough wire stripper and using a #11 blade might cut the small wires. Any thoughts will be appreciated. This also goes for anyone else who can provide input. Thanks in advance, Tom


Country: USA | Posts: 316 Go to Top of Page

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 07/24/2008 :  12:27:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have started on the LOKSound decoder install for the Mantua 2-6-6-2. Here are the first pictures as I started. This picture is what you see after removing the tender shell. There are four screw, one in each corner. You have to remove the trucks first to get to the screw. Be careful as the tender pickup wires are attached to the trucks. Just move them far enough to get to the shell screws.


This picture shows the factory wiring and the dummy plug to allow running on DC. I could not pull the dummy plug and socket apart. My orginial thought was to pull off the dummy plug and get a 9 pin to NMRA 2X4 plug adapter. But this might put too much wire harness inside the tender shell making it difficult to install the speaker.


Another picture of the wiring connections.


Here is a picture of the LOKSound decoder and the supplied 7/8" speaker.


Here is a picture of the 1.1" speaker and enclosuer I am going to use.


This picture is of the wiring after unsoldering the dummy plug and socket from the harness coming from the loco.


I traced the brown wire I had questioned earlier in this post and found the it just terminates in the loco and is not attached. Also the green wire is unattached in the loco.
This is as far as I have progressed. I will continue as I get time to work on the project. Hopefully I have answered any questions anyone might have so far on this project. If not please let me know. Tom



Country: USA | Posts: 316 Go to Top of Page

George D
Moderator

Premium Member


Posted - 07/24/2008 :  09:16:46 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Tom,

It would have been nice to be able to use the plug. I ran into the same situation with a Spectrum 10 wheeler it just takes up too much space when you are adding sound.

Im watching your progress with interest.

George



Country: USA | Posts: 11409 Go to Top of Page

Geezer
Engineer

Premium Member


Posted - 07/24/2008 :  09:26:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have the same project going...Thanks for the post...I will be watching.


Bill
The only "REAL" Geezer

"Before you say it's my fault, Are you SURE it was my job?"

My Threads:
http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=39181&whichpage=1
http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=34275&whichpage=1
http://www.railroad-line.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=28172&whichpage=1

Country: USA | Posts: 10593 Go to Top of Page

Mainframer
Engine Wiper

Posted - 07/30/2008 :  12:25:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Okay, Guys, I am asking for a little experienced advice on how to proceed. I am going to remove the small terminal block board you see in the pic below. It does not look like it is necessary.


This opens up the frame for use. As you can see in this picture there several squares where holes could be drilled to let sound out.


The speaker could be mounted like this.


Orginally, I was going to place the speaker in the coal load facing up


And drill small holes in the coal to let the sound out. Don't know how much they would be visable. This coal load is not very detailed.


I could mount the decoder here


or in the coal load area


So let me know your thoughts. I am leaning towards drilling holes in the frame floor and mounting the speaker facing down and then just letting the decoder fit where it will. Tom




Country: USA | Posts: 316 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 4 Previous Topic: Decoder Pro - First Impressions Topic Next Topic: Wiring Tomar dwarf signals from tortoise???  
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic |   Printer Friendly
Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-14 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.44 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000