Railroad Line Forums - Right Track vs 3rd Planit
Railroad Line Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Sponsors   Support the RRLine   Guestbook   FAQ     Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Live Chat | Avatar Legend | Search | Statistics
Photo Album | File Lister | File Library
[ Active Members: 4 | Anonymous Members: 1 | Guests: 113 ]  [ Total: 118 ]  [ Newest Member: rkovvur ]
 All Forums
 Railroad Software Forums
 Atlas Right Track Software
 Right Track vs 3rd Planit
Next Page
 New Topic |   Topic Locked | 
Author Previous Topic: Right Track Topic Next Topic: abracadata
Page: of 2

papasmurf37
Engine Wiper

Posted - 03/13/2002 :  7:29:14 PM  Show Profile
After downloading Right Track, I started to check it out and found it to be pretty difficult to use for me. Has anyone out there used 3rd Planit AND tried Right Track, so a comparison could be presented?

Tom in NH

Country: USA | Posts: 319

NYC
Fireman

Posted - 03/14/2002 :  10:48:10 AM  Show Profile
Tom, I have both Right track is easy to use compared to 3rd plan-it.

3rd planit requires a long learning curve unless you are a CAD user already (I happen to be a Civil Engineer) and even then it takes a little time. It is a great program once you learn how to use it. It models your scenery, benchwork, buildings, trees, Locos, etc...

Right track is easier to learn and use, but is also more basic. you are limited to the elements that are already made (can not make your own).

Any questions you have about right track and getting started just ask I will do all I can to help.

Modeling the NYC railroad
(Not Yet Completed Railroad)
Phil



Country: USA | Posts: 2044 Go to Top of Page

Shay Driver
Fireman

Posted - 03/14/2002 :  12:00:39 PM  Show Profile
Right Track, working = Oxymoron

Twice I have tried to get that sucker to work. The first time everything seemed OK until it came time to download the library; it decided to wander off and hide in MS Word. Found it and was able to use it, three times if I remember correctly. HO track then refused to open. Finally I trashed the whole thing. Now this second time, it just sends error messages and refuses to download. Atlas E-mailed new software, but still no dice.

No problems with the graph paper, nor the wrapping paper "bench work" taped to the floor.


Nelson
Lay track and run trains. - Don't forget the scenery.



Country: USA | Posts: 1364 Go to Top of Page

NYC
Fireman

Posted - 03/14/2002 :  12:10:44 PM  Show Profile
I'll agree it can be tempermental to install and run, but I asume from Tom's post that he is having no problems there, only on how to use it.

I do have a problem running it on my home computer, but not at work.

Modeling the NYC railroad
(Not Yet Completed Railroad)
Phil

Edited by - nyc on 03/14/2002 20:20:16

Edited by - nyc on 03/15/2002 16:18:50



Country: USA | Posts: 2044 Go to Top of Page

birdman
New Hire

Posted - 03/14/2002 :  6:35:33 PM  Show Profile  Visit birdman's Homepage
I have tried demos of all the main software offerings and the full version of Right Track.

Right Track gets my vote. I found it easy to set up and install. It does not have all the bells and whistles but it enables me to do some basic planning/tweaking.

The zero cost is a big plus. You have nothing to lose except for some time.

Steve


'




Country: Canada | Posts: 3 Go to Top of Page

Shay Driver
Fireman

Posted - 03/14/2002 :  7:50:03 PM  Show Profile
Hello Steve,
Welcome aboard.

The RT price certainly is attractive. Maybe I'll have one of my Grand kids give it a shot . Hopefully third time's the charm.


Nelson
Lay track and run trains. - Don't forget the scenery.

Edited by - Shay Driver on 03/14/2002 20:02:50



Country: USA | Posts: 1364 Go to Top of Page

Bucks Owin
Fireman

Posted - 03/15/2002 :  3:44:34 PM  Show Profile
I've gotten the free version twice and finally gave up on the damn thing! Paper, pencil and compass are working fine! (And leaves time for modeling!!)




Country: USA | Posts: 1398 Go to Top of Page

NYC
Fireman

Posted - 03/15/2002 :  4:18:24 PM  Show Profile
I've done about 30 layouts with right track for myself and friends, so if anyone wants help with using right track let me know.

Modeling the NYC railroad
(Not Yet Completed Railroad)
Phil



Country: USA | Posts: 2044 Go to Top of Page

Admin
Forum Admin



Posted - 03/15/2002 :  5:40:05 PM  Show Profile  Visit Admin's Homepage
FYI Guys.

I have uploaded a new version of RTS on the atlas site.

Good Luck

Joe




Country: USA | Posts: 5745 Go to Top of Page

NYC
Fireman

Posted - 03/15/2002 :  8:59:07 PM  Show Profile
Joe, can you tell me how to make my own libraries for right track?

Modeling the NYC railroad
(Not Yet Completed Railroad)
Phil



Country: USA | Posts: 2044 Go to Top of Page

Admin
Forum Admin



Posted - 03/16/2002 :  8:21:53 PM  Show Profile  Visit Admin's Homepage


Phil,

Unfortunately i have no experience with the program.
I will inquire for you first chance i get!

Joe






Country: USA | Posts: 5745 Go to Top of Page

Rick F.
Engine Wiper

Posted - 03/17/2002 :  9:12:33 PM  Show Profile
I have CADRAIL 7 and have found it difficult to use.

Rick F.




Country: | Posts: 265 Go to Top of Page

NYC
Fireman

Posted - 03/18/2002 :  08:21:09 AM  Show Profile
Joe, Thanks!!

Rick, I have heard other people with the same complaint. The problem with CAD software is:
1st learning curve- takes along time to master
2nd need for continual use- It is easy to forget how to do certain things if you don't use the software every few days.

Modeling the NYC railroad
(Not Yet Completed Railroad)
Phil



Country: USA | Posts: 2044 Go to Top of Page

MikeC
Administrator

Premium Member


Posted - 03/25/2002 :  10:28:02 AM  Show Profile
A year or two back - I don't really remember now - I sent email to Atlas asking if Right Track was available for Macs; the answer I got back was "no and it never would be," an answer which at the time I found to be fairly stupid and short sighted. (Not all model railroaders use PC's; there are a lot of us who use Macs, including the entire staff at Model Railroader)

After reading the posts here, however, I think it's just as well I can't use it. It sounds like most of you have found it difficult to impossible to use, with only a few "success stories" along the way.

Mike C... When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it happened or not. Now that I'm old, I remember only the latter.



Country: USA | Posts: 21584 Go to Top of Page

billk
Engine Wiper

Posted - 03/25/2002 :  11:04:22 AM  Show Profile
About Right Track SW - IMHO if you're designing a layout using Atlas sectional track only, it's maybe worth what it costs. If you're designing a layout using flex track, it's probably not worth what it costs. And yes, I'm referring to the free version!




Country: USA | Posts: 142 Go to Top of Page

usmcnewdog
New Hire

Posted - 04/03/2002 :  6:24:01 PM  Show Profile  Send usmcnewdog an AOL message  Send usmcnewdog a Yahoo! Message
quote:

FYI Guys.

I have uploaded a new version of RTS on the atlas site.

Good Luck

Joe





Joe,

I downloaded my RTS about a year and a half ago, so are you saying I should try ownloading the new one???

What are the advantages over the old one? I am concenred the nw one will give my machine fits :))

thanks,
Mike Schock

List owner of the Transition Era Yahoo group
Sandusky, Ohio
Modeling B&O and PRR in the Transition period



Country: USA | Posts: 2 Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic: Right Track Topic Next Topic: abracadata  
 New Topic |   Topic Locked | 
Next Page
Jump To:
Railroad Line Forums © 2000-19 Railroad Line Co. Go To Top Of Page
Steam was generated in 0.44 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000