Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 22

railman28
Fireman

USA
5548 Posts

Posted - 09/15/2019 :  3:56:32 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Andre, Dave Thank you. I appreciate your support and I agree with your assessments. As I continue to work on the engines running on DC they are running better. #7 lost is Hitch in reverse and is running the best of the two. #5 is running well but taking about twice the power to start up(??). It was also making a coffee grinder sound in reverse. I notice than in reverse there was no slack in the drive train. In fact the motors staff was being pushed all the way back i the motor. So I shortened the drive staff about 1/16". Now there is no coffee grinder noise and the startup voltage is lower but still higher than #7.

I also start to plan out how I was going to light the headlight. I'm using LED for the first time so I had to figure out how to wire them (What's an Anode? I'm a blacksmith not an electrician!) and how to hide the wires. So this is the first test;

So it looks like I'll be able to hide the little wires behind the Headlight bracket.

My Question is; How long do LEDs last? should I plan for replacement every couple of years or decades?

Bob

It's only make-believe
Go to Top of Page

railman28
Fireman

USA
5548 Posts

Posted - 09/20/2019 :  1:32:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Now with the mechanics in order I can focus again on the cosmetics; building, preparing them and assembling the various parts.
Here's the headlight;

last night I drew and printed the Cab supports, They're curing right now. I have only to design and print the fenders, external pumps and the cab (that's going to be an all dayer).

Bob

It's only make-believe
Go to Top of Page

OK Hogger
Crew Chief

867 Posts

Posted - 09/20/2019 :  2:07:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Good news on all fronts!

I sure like the color of the headlight bulb.

Andre
Go to Top of Page

railman28
Fireman

USA
5548 Posts