Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 16

pcmatt
Engine Wiper

USA
186 Posts

Posted - 07/04/2009 :  01:25:18 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Finally got the courage up to start a topic and post some pics of the beginning stages of my 1st layout. Being a true novice, I believe this will be a great place to get tips/advice/best practices and the "what in the world are you doing/thinking?" reply. I really enjoy looking at the work everyone has posted and over time can only hope to get to the level of expertise that many of you exhibit. I have been "permitted" to use half of my basement to build a layout after years of collecting and being an arm-chair modeler. My wife is very supportive of my hobby but she finally has laid down an ultimatum to "use it or lose it" with regards to the space.

The layout room is 10'x30'(hope to get the rights to the remaining 16'x24' in about 15 years after all the kids are grown up!!!). When we remodeled our basement, the walls and ceiling were insulated and sheetrocked, outlets are spaced out every 6' and a subpanel was installed in the basement. The plans are for the layout to have 3 levels: lower level at 28" for staging, middle level at 42" and the top level at 60". The layout will be around the walls at varying widths. I'll be using Code 100 Atlas flextrack with Peco/Atlas turnouts, Digitrax SuperChief DCC, Tortoises on the mainline and Caboose Industries ground throws in the yards and branches. We (with the help of Bruce aka SteamNut) have started building a helix that is partially tucked underneath the steps. It's octagonal in design and has a post in the middle of it-yes that's right there's a post in the middle of the helix-pictures to follow on a separate post.