Help needed on repowering an Athearn Diesel
 New Topic  Topic Locked
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bbags
Administrator

USA
13288 Posts

Posted - 08/02/2005 :  10:45:01 AM  Show Profile
I purchased an undecorated powered RDC that I will use on my layout.
When I popped off the shell I saw the famous Athearn rubber band method for running the RDC.
While it does run OK I want to change out the motor and wheel sets.

I have very little knowledge(actually none) in this area so I am asking how difficult is this and whose kits would you recommend.
I went to the Northwest Shortline web site to see what they offered but I am basically lost.
Thanks for any help you might give me.

John Bagley
Modeling the Alaska Railroad in HO in Wildwood Georgia.

On30fan
Crew Chief

USA
506 Posts

Posted - 08/02/2005 :  11:25:10 AM  Show Profile
John, I haven't done this either but I have one of these babies and I thought about it.

Earnst has gearing kits for the athearn RDC, I hear they are fairly easy to do. Caboose Hobbies has them part # 02593.

Wheels I'm not sure about but the earnst kit should give an idea for which ones or may provide a way to convert the stock wheels.

Any motor that would fit into any other athearn unit would work here. It's a typical mount with those little rubber clips.

Also NWSL has a self powered truck for the RDC # 7032-4. That would open up the interior of the car for detailing.

Cheers,
Steve
San Juan Lumber Company
Niagara Frontier Traction Company
Go to Top of Page

On30fan
Crew Chief

USA
506 Posts

Posted - 08/02/2005 :  11:25:10 AM  Show Profile
John, I haven't done this either but I have one of these babies and I thought about it.

Earnst has gearing kits for the athearn RDC, I hear they are fairly easy to do. Caboose Hobbies has them part # 02593.

Wheels I'm not sure about but the earnst kit should give an idea for which ones or may provide a way to convert the stock wheels.